Gary Ollard
Club Overview
Team Kit Colours
Home Kit
Away Kit
Ground Location
Club Twitter
Club Honours
Club Information
Club Name: Buckingham Town
Postcode: MK2 2HX
Registered Colours:
Registered GK Colours:
Alternative Colours:
Alternative GK Colours:
Secretary: Vince Hyde
Chairman: Vince Hyde
Manager: Gary Ollard
Programme Editor: Vince Hyde
County Affiliation: Berks & Bucks CFA
Year Formed: 1883
Record Attendance: 0
Previous Leagues:
Current Division: United Counties League, Division One
Club History

Buckingham Town was formed in 1883, 'The Robins' initially played friendlies with the first recorded game being against Banbury United.



Throughout this long history the club has played at Ford Meadow.





The early years were played in local leagues; the Aylesbury & District League and North Bucks League during which time a long list of local league and cup wins were recorded, the best achievement was the winning of the Berks & Bucks Junior Cup.





In 1953 they became founder members of the Hellenic League leaving in 1957, to join the South Midlands League where they stayed until 1974.





Under Mitch Henson the club slowly established itself in the United Counties League from 1974/5 when they were Division 2 runners up and 1975/76 when they were Division 1 runners up.





Gary Knibbs took over as Manager in 1984, bringing with him the nucleus of his old side at Southern League Wellingborough. The side carried all before it, winning the UCL Premier title, the UCL Knockout Cup, the Berks and Bucks Senior Cup and the Buckingham Senior Charity Cup in its Centenary year. The next season saw the Robins reach the 1st Round proper of the FA Cup where, on a never to be forgotten day, Orient triumphed 2-0 at a packed Ford Meadow where 2,451 attended. Success on the field continued and the following season, 1984/85 the UCL Premier title was regained and with it a successful application to join the Southern League.





In June 1989, Phil Lines was appointed Manager and began possibly the most successful period in the Club's history. A Quarter Final FA Vase appearance (versus Guiseley) culminated in the winning of the Southern League Southern Division title in 1991.





Following the restructuring of the club after Chairman Chris Lawrence resigned, Darren Wood built a good young side after the relegation from the Southern League and had two seasons of top ten finishes in the UCL, also winning the Buckingham Charity Cup in 1998 and being UCL Knockout Cup runners up in 1999.





Morell Maison took charge in April 2000 and brought a breath of fresh air to the club. The following seasons saw the Robins get stronger under Morell's charge. In 2002/3, the team achieved 4th spot in the UCL Premier division as well as gaining the Buckingham Charity Cup. In 2003/4 the side improved further, taking runners up spot in the league and reaching the Berks & Bucks Senior Trophy and Buckingham Charity Cup Finals.





In 2005 Tony Rosenberg was appointed chairman of Buckingham Town. Morell left to take on the Manager's position at Conference side Kettering Town FC and in May 2006 ex QPR and Aldershot player Tony Joyce, was appointed Manager of the "Robins" only to see the club have a disappointing season on the field culminating with relegation to UCL Division One. In 2008 the club narrowly missed winning their 21st Buckingham Charity Cup when they lost out by the solitary goal in an exciting final with Leighton Town, but this was to be the only highlight in an otherwise disconsolate time.





Early in the 2009/10 season, Joyce resigned as Manager and, Youth Team Manager, Phil Simons was appointed First Team Manager, The management team included ex-Robins players, Geoff Sharpe, Paul Warneki, with the resignation of much of the previous first team squad, resulted in the formation of one of the youngest UCL first teams. It was a steep learning curve for many. The group played some good football and with a goal scorer would have undoubtedly finished in a much higher position in the league. The club took the decision not to run a reserve team for 2010/11 so that we can concentrate on the First X1, the under 18's and the newly affiliated under 16 team this season and to reinstate one in 2011/12 season.





Vince Hyde elected as Chairman in September 2010 as Tony Rosenberg could not give the time the post needed.





After a very disappointing season Phil Simons and his team stood down with the team bottom of the league and ten points adrift, Dan Kingston was appointed First Team Manager March 2011.



Match Day
Postcode: MK2 2HX
Admission Prices:
Match Reports
Copyright 2016 - United Counties Football League
Privacy Policy
Terms & Conditions